Zoovangelism


image

Another lovely sunshine Sunday here in Seattle, and a quick morning text to my good friend resulted in our two families playing hooky from church and heading on down to the Woodland Park Zoo. I’m coining our adventure: zoovangelism. 🙂

image

 

image

Look! A new exhibit, Dads-with-strollers! A good looking bunch, if I may say so!

image

Yep, we’re rockin’ it!

image

Flamingos are my new favorite exhibit.

image

Otterly thrilled to be here!

image

Potamus has been quite the ham lately. He now knows that cameras take his picture and so he waves. He’s also a big fan of the feature that allows him to see the picture being taken. And there’s just something SO wonderful about the sunshine here. While I don’t like the few weeks in the summer when it’s 90+, these 70-80 degree days are amazing. It just makes me super happy to be out and about with friends!

image

Baby’s first visit to the zoo! He was born on Potamus’ birthday, so we think it’ll be fun when he’s this age next year, since they’re exactly 1 year apart.

image

I laughed so hard at this goose. He was the only goose in the flamingo pen, and he was off by himself…and I’ve never seen a goose do the one foot stand, so we were joking about how he was adopted by the flamingos and probably thinks he’s a flamingo…but doesn’t quiet fit in. Also, I’m happy to be a human, because I keep noticing how ugly girl birds are….the males are just so pretty, and the girl birds and so…frumpy. Though, makes me think twice about being okay with a girl being called a “chick,” eh?

image

image

He enjoyed the otter exhibit, though it was hard to get a good picture of those slippery little creatures!

image

image

Daddy and Potamus enjoying a quick lunch. These two are such hams!

image

image

image

Seattle sunglass baby!

image

image

image

This city steals my heart every time, but no more than on sunny sunny days. Man, it’s good to be a Seattle-ite!

We had so much fun that we think we might make this a real tradition. We enjoyed walking the shaded paths and the kids ran around. I think they paid less attention to the animals than we did, but the fact that they seemed just so damn happy to be out and about was enough for us! And I felt really connected to Boof and our friends, getting to share in this experience. So often I just do things on my own because I’m afraid of rejection, or the hassle of having to coordinate schedules and the like. Moments like these just reinforce my need for mutual friendships that benefit me, us as a couple, and the kiddos!

Hope your days were filled with sunshine and adventure, too!

2 Comments

  1. such beautiful pictures and a gorgeous family! some of my best childhood memories were at woodland park zoo. i really miss seattle now.

    when potamus is a bit older, you have to take him to the pacific science center! that place was my favorite. my parents took us every weekend. 🙂

Leave a comment