Self Soothing


I am always surprised at the genetic component to my relationship with Potamus. It’s sometimes hard to believe that he is the first biological relative I’ve known from the beginning, and I sometimes marvel at how much he is like me, or like Boof, in mannerisms and patterns.

For example, it’s something that I noticed about two weeks ago, but didn’t think much of it until tonight. I was driving to dinner with my mother-in-law, and Potamus was SUPER tired. He had a short car-nap on the way to her place and wasn’t necessarily out of sorts, but definitely needed to get some shut-eye. We’re driving along and she said to me, “what is that noise? is he scratching something?” Without thinking, I answered, “no, he’s self-soothing. he’s rubbing his foot against the car-seat fabric. It’s something he does when he’s tired. It’s something I’ve done since I was a kid, too. Usually my left foot.”

Sure enough, I turned around and there he was, heavy-eyed, mindlessly rubbing that foot back and forth against the car-seat.

She looked at me and said, “huh, isn’t that neat. Genetics sure are amazing.”

And they are. While nurture is also amazing, it’s fun for me to experience parts of Potamus that aren’t consciously mirroring things he sees Boof or I do. Somehow he got the left-foot-rubbing-fabring-to-sleep gene from me.

3 Comments

  1. That’s so cool. My husband points out this thing I do when I’m drinking water and let out a sigh of quenched thirst. Lo and behold, Humnoy does the exact same thing. It’s the cutest thing seeing how a little person who has half your genes follow in a genetic characteristic!

Leave a Reply

